Some thoughts at the end…

Question 1. What would I do with colors in my future?

I like calling myself a writer. It’s really a shame that I can’t write as well as I can in my own language. Anyway, in favor of writing, I am very interested in media communication, especially journalism. I am not talking about dry news reports. What I would like to include in my media is the stories from people. It doesn’t have to be heroic or dramatic as many of us would expect from “a-true-story-based” articles. It can be just something like a hidden story from the person next to you. And I think color is a perfect medium to represent people’s personality and life stories. I would like to use colors as a part of personal storytelling.
One thing that bothers me about the use of color in the real world is that there is always “this year’s hip color” as PANTONE announced “Turquoise” as it for this year. When color is to be chosen for any object ranging from clothes to interior, this color trend strongly affects the choice. However, if colors are to be applied to describe people, I could be free from the concept of “trendy colors.” — because people’s character is not something that changes along the season.

Thinking about this future project makes me already excited!

Question 2. How do I see colors now?

The color study I did for the past 15 weeks changed my view of color so differently. Most of all, I have thought having too much theoretical background about color would limit my own creativity to use color. But the reality turned out to be the opposite. In my book and color studies, there are so many color schemes that I would have never be able to come up with if I haven’t learned all the concepts like tones and shades, split complementary…and so on. How to apply these new palettes to the right place seems to be still a bit challenging to me. But knowing how to draw interesting yet  harmonious color palettes out of daily object settings or images was very helpful.
Now I’ve come to have a new habit which is to observe everything around me to pick up colors from it. The world I live in became more colorful than before, definitely.

Standard

Leave a Reply

